Pluto-A Dwarf Planet!

1 Nov


I know this is really old but since I just made this category here it is, about a year ago Pluto was starting to be considered as a dwarf planet, it was changed to a dwarf planet because it has other objects in it other than planets, and because it was considered too small to be a planet. For over 70 years, it was taught to children that pluto was the 9th planet of the Solar System, but not anymore! So therefore the Solor System is now said to be Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune! 😀 So yea, no more Pluto, even though it used to be my favorite “planet”


-Pinkey2we :mrgreen:


One Response to “Pluto-A Dwarf Planet!”

  1. Laurel Kornfeld November 2, 2008 at 5:00 AM #

    Not so fast. The demotion of Pluto to dwarf planet is still highly contested. It was done by only four percent of the International Astronomical Union in a controversial process that violated the group’s own bylaws. It was immediately opposed by a petition of professional astronomers led by Dr. Alan Stern, Principal Investigator of NASA’s New Horizons mission to Pluto and one of the leading scholars on Pluto in the world. The IAU definition makes no sense for many reasons. First, it states that a dwarf planet is not a planet at all. That’s like saying a grizzly bear is not a bear! Second, it defines objects solely by where they are while ignoring what they are. The further an object is from the sun, the less likely it will be to “clear its orbit.” If Earth were placed in Pluto’s orbit, according to the IAU definition, it would not be considered a planet either. An alternative planet definition is one that keeps the term planet broad enough to encompass any spherical object in orbit around a star. A spherical object is in a state of hydrostatic equilibrium, meaning it has enough self-gravity to have pulled itself into a round shape. When this happens, the object experiences differentiation into core, mantle, and crust, just like the Earth and other planets and experiences the same geological processes they do–processes that inert, shapeless asteroids don’t have. Since Pluto is spherical, it meet this qualification for planet status. We could then distinguish between types of planets by using subcategories such as terrestrial planets, gas giants, ice giants, dwarf planets, etc. Many astronomers feel this is a far better definition, and using it, our solar system has 13 planets–the 8 classical planets and five dwarf planets, with the order from the sun being Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Ceres, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris. Don’t count Pluto or any of these smaller planets out just yet because this debate is far from over.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: